Amcharts test

IeDEA numbers


IeDEA Regional Cohorts

IeDEA Regional Cohorts

International Epidemiology Databases to Evaluate AIDS (IeDEA) Consortium

IeDEA is an international research consortium established in 2005 by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) to provide a rich resource for globally diverse HIV/AIDS data. IeDEA is a trans-NIH initiative that collaborates with the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), and the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA).

Sites in various regions throughout the world collaborate to collect and define key variables, and implement methodology to effectively analyze data as a cost-effective means of generating large data sets to address the high priority HIV/AIDS research questions that are unanswerable by a single cohort. For more information, please contact


observational cohorts enabling data-driven decision making

Executive Committee

Composed of the Principal Investigators from the regions and NIH, this body coordinates multi-regional and cross-regional collaborations.


Assess the impact of HIV and antiretroviral therapy on the burden, spectrum and outcomes of cancer; disseminate findings across the network.

Clinical Outcomes

Define demographic, clinical and other predictors of AIDS- and non-AIDS morbidity and mortality in persons living with HIV.


Standardization of clinical definitions, identify critical measures and dissemination of quality assurance practices across the network.


Assess impact of HIV, comorbidities or coinfections, and therapy on survival, health and unique concerns of children and adolescents.

Site Assessment

Periodically implement site surveys to systematically assess facility and program characteristics of HIV care and treatment programs.

Strategic Data

Develop standards for data use and dissemination of research findings and manage collaborations and data requests from external organizations.


Describe the epidemiology and treatment outcomes of TB/HIV+ patients; assess the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of TB.



Annette Sohn,
Principal Investigator
amfAR TREAT Asia
Bangkok, Thailand
Matthew Law,
Principal Investigator
Kirby Institute
University of New South Wales
Sydney, Australia

The North American
AIDS Cohort Collaboration
on Research and Design

Richard Moore,
Principal Investigator
Johns Hopkins University
School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

Caribbean, Central
and South America

Catherine McGowan,
Principal Investigator
Vanderbilt University
School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Pedro Cahn,
Principal Investigator
Fundación Huésped
Buenos Aires, Argentina


Central Africa

Kathryn Anastos,
Principal Investigator
Montefiore Medical Center
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, New York
Denis Nash,
Principal Investigator
City University of New York
Graduate School of Public Health
and Health Policy New York, New York

East Africa

Kara Wools-Kaloustian,
Principal Investigator
Indiana University
School of Medicine
Indianapolis, Indiana
Constantin Yiannoutsos,
Principal Investigator
Indiana University
Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health
Indianapolis, Indiana

Southern Africa

Matthias Egger,
Principal Investigator
University of Bern
Bern, Switzerland
Mary-Ann Davies,
Principal Investigator
University of Cape Town
Cape Town, South Africa

West Africa

François Dabis,
Principal Investigator
Institute of Public Health,
Epidemiology and Development (ISPED)
Bordeaux, France

Regions and Countries

Asia-Pacific: Australia, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

CCASAnet: Caribbean, Central & South America – Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Peru

Central Africa: Burundi, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo (RoC), Rwanda

East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda

NA-ACCORD: North America – Canada, United States of America

Southern Africa: Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe

West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo